Working from a 12×12 sketch

Some sketches or layouts are easier to work from then others. I have worked from many 12×12 sketches. I tend to keep a notebook nearby when searching for inspiration online. I divide the page into 4th with a pen and then sketch the layout into a mini-version in one of the 4 spaces.  There are times when I’m working from a 12×12 sketch that I try to alter the entire layout and other times that I just take elements.

from pagemaps.com July 2010

From this Becky Fleck sketch I only took some elements. I started with the photo box. I kept the top 3 photos the same size, but I added 2 2.5×2 photos to the bottom (I had quite a few photos I wanted to include in this layout) and then I added a strip of patterned paper to the left and moved the title to the bottom. Here’s my layout. I used cosmo cricket for the patterned papers from the snorkel collection and sticker ribbon. I used American Craft stickers to create the title (and my scanner and I aren’t getting along so the colors are a little washed out)

Then at times I’ll take the entire layout and alter it.

Becky Fleck from backporchmemories.com Feb GDT search

 

 

 

 

Here I just made everything a bit smaller. I made a 5 inch circle and used a 4×4 size for my main photo. Each of the photos in the strip are 2×2 still.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for reading & happy crafting!

❤ Ann

1 Comment

Filed under 8.5x11, sketch

One response to “Working from a 12×12 sketch

  1. Great job! I love working from sketches. Design isn’t my strong point so I prefer to start with some sort of direction, even if I totally change it all up. Love Becky Fleck’s sketches too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

